Hamilton Southeastern Education Association
Hamilton Southeastern Education Association

HSEA Leadership

Janet Chandler, President


Janet leads the Hamilton Southeastern Education Association.  She is involved in all aspects of leadership, including discussion, formation of committees, bargaining and contract negotiations, insurance and benefits and much more.  She also serves as the primary representative for teachers who are involved in disciplinary procedures and serves as the primary link between Central Office and HSE teachers.  As HSEA President, Janet is on half-time release to do the business of the association.

Janet is a Social Studies teacher and Department Chair at Hamilton Southeastern High School.


Ben Yoder, Executive Vice President


Ben's primary responsibility is to support Janet Chandler in her leadership of HSEA and to perform presidential duties in her absence and other duties at her specific direction.  Ben represents teachers in disciplinary and evaluation meetings and is also involved with district discussion. Ben is responsible for coordinating the HSEA Scholarships through the Hamilton Southeastern Schools Foundation as well as HSEA's applications for ISTA and NEA awards.  In addition to his work with HSEA, Ben is currently serving on the ISTA Board of Directors for District 12, representing teachers from school districts across central Indiana.

Ben is the Orchestra Director at 

Hamilton Southeastern Intermediate & Junior High.


Mary Carson, Treasurer


As treasurer, Mary is in charge of all aspects of HSEA's finances.  She works closely with ISTA to maintain accurate membership rolls and helps HSEA members with questions about their dues.  She also coordinates yearly outside audits of HSEA's financial records.

Mary is a Mathematics teacher at

 Hamilton Southeastern High School.


Leslie Brown, VP of Communication


As the VP of Communication, Leslie's primary responsibility is...communication!  She coordinates and produces the monthly HSEA newsletter, helps to maintain the HSEA website and coordinates HSEA's social media accounts.

Leslie serves as HSE's District Autism Specialist.


Carolyn Porzuczek, VP of Engagement and Organizing


Carolyn coordinates and spearheads HSEA's organizing and action efforts.  She works directly  with building level CEOs (Community Engagement Organizers) and Association Representatives to help organize buildings to take action in support of public education.  Carolyn also coordinates HSEA's School Board Candidate Forums and endorsements of school board candidates.

Carolyn is a 4th Grade Teacher at 

Brooks School Elementary


Megan Ewing, VP of Membership


Megan works with Association Representatives to help coordinate HSEA's ongoing membership drives.  She works closely with Mary Carson and ISTA to update and maintain HSEA's membership rolls, and she plans and coordinates HSEA's New Teacher Breakfast each fall.

Megan is a Science teacher at 

Hamilton Southeastern High School.


Abby Taylor, Secretary


As secretary, Abby's primary responsibilities include taking minutes at various meetings, scheduling meetings and locations and maintaining accurate records for HSEA.  

Abby is a 4th grade teacher at Lantern Road Elementary. 


Association and Discussion Representatives


Each building has dedicated HSEA Association Representatives who are elected by their building peers.  Association Representatives serve as the conduit between HSEA leadership and individual buildings. Each building also has representation that coordinates building level discussion.  Click the button below  to find out who your representatives are!

ISTA Leadership Team


Click on the picture above to find out more about our Indiana State Teachers Association leaders!